David A. Sonenshein

Professor Emeritus

Professor David A. Sonenshein teaches at Temple University School of Law. A graduate of Cornell University and the New York University School of Law, Professor Sonenshein has taught at Boston University, DePaul University, and was the Lyle T. Alverson Professor of Law at George Washington University Law School. He was named the I. Herman Stern Professor of Law at Temple in 1992. Professor Sonenshein has received the Outstanding Professor Award at both DePaul and Temple Law Schools a total of six times. In 2004, Professor Sonenshein was honored as one of the University’s finest teachers, receiving the University’s Lindback Award for Outstanding Teaching. In 2007, Professor Sonenshein was awarded the University’s Great Teacher Award.

Professor Sonenshein is co-author with the late Irving Younger and Professor Michael Goldsmith of the casebook, Principles of Evidence. In addition, Professor Sonenshein has co-authored ten other books on Evidence as well as numerous articles on the subjects of Evidence and Civil Procedure.

Professor Sonenshein is formerly the Director of the American Institute for Law Training within the Office, the in-house training arm of the American Law Institute-American Bar Association. He has performed training in Trial Advocacy, Deposition Practice, Evidence, Motion Practice and Negotiation Skills at America’s premier law firms and government agencies, including the U.S. Department of Justice. In addition, Professor Sonenshein teaches Evidence to Federal Judges for the Federal Judicial Center.

Finally, he earned the Francis E. Rawle Award from the American Law Institute and American Bar Association for his outstanding contributions to the field of post-admission legal education.


J.D. (), New York University
B.A. (), Cornell University

Research & Teaching Areas

Areas of Expertise

Selected Publications

Publications and Media Appearances

Awards and Recognition

  • Temple University Great Teacher Award (2007)
  • Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching (2004)
  • George P. Williams, III, Memorial Award for the Outstanding Professor of the Year (1992, 1996, 2002, 2003, 2006)
  • Frances Rawle Award (2001) awarded for distinguished contribution to post-admission legal education