Temple Law School is committed to providing students with a well-rounded legal education that includes a strong emphasis on practical skills. Moot Court competitions, simulations of appellate court proceedings that allow students to develop their oral advocacy, legal analysis, and writing skills in a competitive setting, are a crucial part of Temple’s mission, providing law students with the opportunity to hone their legal skills, enhance their knowledge of legal principles, and gain practical experience in oral advocacy. This spring, Temple Law Moot Court teams participated in several competitions, with teams advancing to national rounds and picking up individual honors.

The Jessup Moot Court Competition, named after renowned international law scholar and diplomat Philip C. Jessup, is organized by the International Law Students Association (ILSA) and focuses on international law. The competition involves a hypothetical international legal dispute, and students represent different countries and compete against teams from roughly 700 law schools in 100 countries and jurisdictions. Temple Law School’s 2023 Jessup Moot Court team of Joe O’Connell, Cliff David, Michaela Kollin, Angie Stolzfus, and Anand Tayal made it to the quarterfinals, a significant achievement, with Anand Tayal receiving recognition as a top 10 Oralist in the competition. The team was coached and supported by Laura Bingham, Executive Director of the Institute for Law, Innovation & Technology (iLIT), and Professor Duncan Hollis.

Temple Law’s first-ever Duberstein Moot Court team of Jasnoor Hundal and Colin Meehan was led by the Honorable Craig Goldblatt, who currently sits on the bench of the Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware. The new team put forth excellent work and received positive feedback from the judges – a testament to their dedication. The Duberstein Moot Court Competition focuses on bankruptcy issues and was named after the Honorable Conrad B. Duberstein, a prominent bankruptcy judge. The competition is organized by St. John’s University School of Law and is highly competitive, with over 50 teams participating.

The Giles Sutherland Rich Intellectual Property Moot Court Competition is an appellate advocacy competition emphasizing patent law. The competition is organized by the American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA) and is considered the most prestigious IP moot court competition in the United States. The competition has several rounds, including regional and national rounds, with the top teams advancing to the finals held in Washington D.C. Coached by Dean Donald Harris, with additional support from Professors Erika Douglas, Paul Gugliuzza, and Craig Green, Temple Law’s teams, Jessey Blau/Joseph Campbell and Taylor Weilnau/Julianna Hunt, successfully advanced through the competition. Both teams made it through the regional semifinal round, with the Blau/Campbell team advancing to the finals, where they placed second overall. Their performance in the regional qualified them for the nationals, where they represented Temple Law with distinction in Washington D.C.

The success of Temple Law’s moot court teams in national competitions is a testament to the hard work and dedication of our students, faculty, and staff. The collective effort to prepare for these high-stakes competitions, and to represent Temple Law on a national stage, is emblematic of Temple Law’s commitment and capability. We look forward to what the future holds for the moot court teams at Temple Law!