The 2022 Arlin and Neysa Adams Lecture A First Amendment Dialogue

March 24, 2022
4:00 PM
Duane Morris LLP Moot Court Room

Temple University is currently hosting in-person events in compliance with regional and CDC guidelines. Masks strongly encouraged.

ABout the event

First Amendment scholars Dean Erwin Chemerinsky, from the University of California, Berkeley Law School, and Professor Laura Little, the James G. Schmidt Professor at Temple University Beasley School of law, will engage in a wide-ranging discussion that will include freedom of expression and religion issues discussed in their individually authored books on the First Amendment. JoAnne A. Epps, Senior Advisor to the Temple University President and Professor of Law, will moderate the discussion. A reception will follow the program.

Watch Lecture Here


Erwin Chemerinsky

Dean, University of California, Berkeley Law School

Erwin Chemerinsky is Dean and Jesse H. Choper Distinguished Professor of Law, University of California, Berkeley School of Law.  Prior to assuming this position he was the founding dean of the University of California, Irvine School of Law, and a professor at Duke Law School, University of Southern California Law School, and DePaul Law School.  He is the author of 14 books and over 200 law review articles.  He frequently argues appellate cases, including in the United States Supreme Court.  In January 2021, he was named President-elect of the Association of American Law Schools.

Laura Little

James G. Schmidt Professor of Law, Temple University Beasley School of Law

Professor Laura E. Little serves as the James G. Schmidt Chair in Law. She specializes in federal courts, conflict of laws, and constitutional law. She is the author of numerous books and articles, including a sole-authored casebook, Conflict of Laws (2d ed. Aspen Wolters Kluwer 2018), two treatises: Federal Courts and First Amendment, both in Aspen Wolter Kluwer Publishing’s Examples and Explanations series, and Guilty Pleasures: Law and Comedy in America (Oxford 2019). Among her many awards for teaching and scholarship are several law school awards, a University-wide Lindback award, and Temple’s highest award for teaching, the University Great Teacher Award. The American Law Institute appointed Professor Little in 2014 to serve as Associate Reporter, Restatement (Third) of Conflict of Laws. 

Professor Little’s scholarship has strong interdisciplinary character, integrating law, social science and humanities. She has travelled internationally lecturing on law and humor, and has written several studies on how legal doctrines regulate various forms of comedy. A sample of her writings is available on her publications page. 

Conversation Moderated By

JoAnne A. Epps

Senior Advisor to the President, Temple University
Professor of Law, Temple University Beasley School of Law

JoAnne A. Epps is a Professor of Law and Senior Advisor to the President of Temple University. From 2016 to 2021, she served as Provost and Executive Vice President. Prior to that, she served as Dean of Temple Law School, a position she held from July 2008 until July 2016. As Dean, Epps was an outspoken advocate for legal education that emphasized institutional responsiveness over a one-size-fits-all curricular model. National Jurist Magazine named her among the 25 most influential people in legal education for 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016, citing her leadership in implementing this approach at Temple. Her commitment to curricular innovation and experiential legal education has garnered Temple significant praise, in particular for its innovative first-year experiential courses and nationally recognized clinical opportunities.  

About the Lectureship

The Arlin and Neysa Adams Lectureship was established in 2005 through the generosity of the Honorable Arlin Adams SBM ‘41 CLA ‘51 HON ‘65 and his wife, Neysa Adams, to provide for lectures in constitutional law. 

Judge Arlin M. Adams served on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit from 1969 to 1987. Until January 2012, he was of counsel to Schnader, Harrison, Segal & Lewis, where he was senior partner from 1947 to 1969. Judge Adams also served as Secretary of Public Welfare for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania from 1963 to 1966. He was a past Chancellor of the Philadelphia Bar Association, former president of the American Judicature Society, former member of the Board of the Federal Judicial Center, and former Chairman of the Commission for Supreme Court Fellows. He also served from 1990 to 1995 as Independent Counsel appointed by a special U.S. court to investigate alleged corruption in the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. 

In 1993, Judge Adams was elected President of the American Philosophical Society. Judge Adams received the 1997 Philadelphia Award, presented annually to a Philadelphian in recognition of outstanding service to the community. In 1999, he received the Gold Medal of the Philadelphia Bar Association, the association’s highest honor, and in 2005, the President’s Medal of the Pennsylvania Bar Association. 

Judge Adams, who held a B.A. from Temple University and a J.D. from University of Pennsylvania, served on Temple University’s President’s Advisory Council. In 1981, he and Mrs. Adams established the Arlin and Neysa Adams Prize Fund for Excellence in Pre-Law Studies, and in 2004 they established a scholarship in the name of their daughter, Jane Adams, for a student at Temple’s School of Education.